Saturday, October 13, 2018

Guest Post: Melissa Chan from Literary Book Gifts

Unique Gifts for Book Lovers! With an exclusive discount!

When is the last time you saw a lesser known or obscure novel on a t-shirt? How often do see literature based designs at your local mall? Literary Book Gifts is a brand new online store that specializes in making quality gifts for book lovers. There are so many shirts and tote bags to choose from in the collection.

Not every book is popular enough to be produced on shirts or stocked on shelves. This means that there are so many titles that fans will never see designs of. Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice may have many fans even today, but what about Jacob Grimm and Wilhelm Grimm's The Grimms' Fairy Tales? Literary Book Gifts has both of these and many more titles from your favorite authors and maybe some authors you've never heard of whose books you might like to try.

Each product is curated and designed specially for the collection. All design-work is done in house and each item is printed professionally to ensure that it is high quality. Although two individuals may be fans of the same literary work, they do not necessarily share the same color pallette. This is why each shirt comes in a multitude of colors and sizes to choose from. Take for example The Hunchback of Notre Dame T-Shirt in the men's or unisex style. The most obvious color choice would be to select this shirt in black. But if you select the shirt in light blue, purple, or even red it gives off a completely different vibe.

The tote bags come in three different sizes and in a wide range of colors to choose from as well. The Little Women Tote Bag in particular is a in a pink mauve color with black handles that are made of 100% cotton.

For readers of Dream Reads there is a special 20% discount code for you! Use the code DREAMREADS20 at checkout to receive 20% off your entire order! There is no expiry date for this coupon.

Written by Melissa Chan founder Literary Book Gifts and lover of all things: reading, writing, and literature.

Monday, September 3, 2018

Review: Roomies by Christina Lauren

RoomiesRoomies by Christina Lauren
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Roomies is an incredibly easy book to get into. The writing is good, it's engaging and very modern. You almost feel like this book is an on going conversation you are having with a friend about events in your life. It is relatable and realistic.

The main character, Holland, is a struggling writer who develops a crush on a busker. She grows a lot within the book, it takes her a lot to realize what she needs to do in life and whom she loves but she slowly gets there. The male lead in this book, Calvin, is a busker/musician, struggling to hit it big in NYC despite having immense talent.

This book is basically a story of a marriage of convenience where the main characters go from strangers, to friends, to lovers. There's a lot of highs and lows in their journey but they manage to fall in love.

The aspects of this book that I loved the most is that it was an NA contemporary romance where the female lead had a strong presence of family in her life. She wasn't isolated and figuring things out alone, her uncle and his husband were strong and supportive figures in her life with a lot of dimension to them.

I also liked that there wasn't Insta love in this book where the main characters just had this irresistible pull to each other out of the blue. Because Insta love is a cheap way to write a romance and a bit unrealistic.

I felt that this book ran on the theme of having to learn to be brutally honest with yourself in order to find your happiness. Also to not let anyone put you second place in your life and to be the protagonist of your own life journey and not let others influence you.

And last but not least, I liked that this book touched on having toxic friendships. Where you think the person is nice, but you realize that they're not, that they're envious and not truly as supportiveas they should be. And the need to cut that off.

The only reason this book doesn't get a perfect rating is that there were times where instead of being endeared to Holland's struggle to find her identity, you get annoyed because shes pushing it in the naiveté department. Also, at times where the language between both characters should have been more romantic, they chose to make it more crass for the sake of making the book realistic and modern.

The other thing that I didn't like were some dream sequences that were awkwardly written in to add steam to the story but actually felt like they were happening and like the tension between the characters was broken into before it needed to be broken into. not a fan.

but overall, this is a good book. I liked it.

I give it a 3.5/5 rating.





View all my reviews

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Anti Stepbrother by Tijan

Anti-StepbrotherAnti-Stepbrother by Tijan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I havent read a good New Adult book in ages. Most people turn to this genre because YA books limit the way authors can write mature situations. BUT sometimes authors take advantage of this and take it too far with the sex scenes in the sense that they use them for shock value and ignore the character and emotional development needed for a balanced book.

But WE have a winner here. Because Summer and Caden are a reflection of their age. College students. They have steam and chemistry but there is depth. No Insta love here. There is a lot of development here because I went from being skeptical about Summer to "You go, girl!" With her realness. And Caden, Caden!!! He was sexy, strong and mysterious but had a really sweet nature underneath and a lot of emotional turmoil.

So did Summer. She starts off with thinking she likes someone else to a slow development of friends to lovers with Caden. And that's what I loved. At the beginning you had no idea where things were heading but slowly you see this connection growing between Summer and Caden!

Loved the secondary characters. I need books about Cadens brothers please! And Tijan surprised me with some backstories. Shes my new autobuy author.

5/5





View all my reviews

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3)Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


"If you keep playing it safe, you’ll never know who you are. I know who you are, and I love who you are. Why don’t you trust me?"

This is a perfect book. Even if it's YA and it has cuteness, there is so much depth and sensibility in this book.

Isla is the shy type of girl whose had a crush on Josh for ages. He's an artist who seems a bit disconnected and whom she is fascinated with. She can tell there is more to him and viceversa.

This book is all about appreciating who you are in the midst of uncertainty. Sometimes others can see you better than you see yourself. This book is all about that. Sometimes we're so stuck on our perceived faults and insecurities that we don't realize others don't see that.

This book is about getting out of that rut and following your passion. May it be a hobby, a craft, a person. You name it.

Perkins' writes magical books. If you haven't read the previous two companion novels in this series, what are you waiting for?

Also, Isla and Josh have so much more passion than other YA characters. It's not lust, it's honest to goodness love and craving and aching for another person. That is also, oh so sweet.

A huge surprise at the end connected all books in this series. It was awesome. You also can't beat the settings of Manhattan, Paris and Barcelona.


View all my reviews

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Review: The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

The Air He Breathes (Elements, #1)The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I bought this book because when it came out, it had a lot of buzz.

I didn't love love this story, but it was good.

I think that there is an ease in the writing that makes it quick to get into.

The highlight of the book was for me, our male lead, Tristan. He was a very standout character. Broken. Rough around the edges but highly compelling.

I wasn't a huge fan of the heroine, Elizabeth. She had the whole "the protagonist who all guys go for because she's so beautiful and amazing, but you think she is bland" thing going on. She had her fair share of tragedy but I didn't feel it, as I did with Tristan.

I didn't like Faye, the best friend of Elizabeth. Everyone said she was hilarious but she was too over the top with the whole "I'm blunt, I say outrageous things that are funny" - I thought she was reckless and needed to respect herself more.

I do like the twist towards the end. The villain was someone unexpected and super psycho. Kudos to the author there.

This book makes references to Harry Potter. That's a plus.

Minus of the book was the cheesy dialogue in those life reflecting moments. I felt I had read them before. A bit too "the notebook" for me. And I know romance novels have common themes, ideas, because love is love but the ones in this book seemed unoriginal to me. Like, too cliché.

3/5 for this book.

View all my reviews

Monday, March 28, 2016

Eternal Dawn (Vampire Queen #3) by Rebecca Maizel

Eternal DawnEternal Dawn by Rebecca Maizel
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What an end to this amazing series.

First off, I'll never get over how profound the writing can get in these books. They belong to the YA genre but there is such an in depth look into the main characters that they feel so much older.

There was a new twist to vampires in this novel and a new set of kinda magical lore introuduced. Unexpected, but it worked.

My babies Lenah and Rhode finally got their happily ever after and I loved it. They had suffered so much and I felt it aged them, their trials, but I feel like the endING gives them a fresh start. So much love there!

I liked how life and death are examined in this book. It has rough moments but it's like life, not everything can be perfect, if not the story would be boring to read.

Besides Rhode and Lenah. I felt like I grew to love Tracy more. I wish I could read more about her. She went from a mean girl, to a great young woman, who was really tough and resolved.

Justin was awful. Bye felicia to his character. Became a ruthless villain.

View all my reviews